Happiest Place on Earth in Hong Kong Disneyland

Hong Kong Disneyland (Chinese: 香港迪士尼樂園) is located on reclaimed land in Penny’s BayLantau Island. It is the first theme park located inside the Hong Kong Disneyland Resort and is owned and managed by the Hong Kong International Theme Parks

Image

WELCOME! WELCOME TO THE HAPPIEST PLACE ON EARTH

Image

MICKEY JUST LOVE TO SURF

Image

MICKEY HOLDER INSIDE THE DISNEYLAND TRAIN

It was just a dream for me but  here I am standing in the place known as the Happiest Place on Earth. Looking back with how my life and finances back home in Manila it is really close to impossible to plan for a perfect vacation in HK. Lets admit it that a normal average Filipino is just earning enough to get by on a day to day expenses and even though I work in a well known BPO it is still not enough not unless I spent my 13th pay for a vacation abroad but not until I started working here in KL.

920034_4703729237406_1508587246_o

LOVELY COUPLE

On the 2nd day of my stay in HK the plan is to visit Ngong Ping early morning then head to Disneyland as this the most strategic itinerary cause both places is in Lantau Island. I kind of underestimated the time Disneyland can be finished up in maybe 6 or 7 hours but then again It is not. The park is so huge and packed with people from all sorts of ages but mostly Chinese. After Ngong Ping i grabbed some meal in City Gate Outlet as I saw Food Republic more of like food court in a Sossy way. I arrived in Disneyland Park past 1PM which I  regreted cause the time I arrived there are numerous people started flocking which is evident from the moment you take the Disneyland train. Good thing I already bought all my tickets from China Travel Services in HK Airport before I head to my hostel, here you can save atleast 10-40 HKD which really matters specially if you are on a budget.

The park consists of seven themed areas:

  • Main Street, U.S.A., designed to resemble an early 20th-century Midwest town;
    • Adventureland, featuring jungle-themed adventures;
    • Fantasyland, bringing to life characters and places from Disney’s movies for children;
    • Tomorrowland, an optimistic vision of the future.

    In 2011, a new themed area opened:

    In 2012, the park was expanded to 27.4 hectares (68 acres) and another new themed area opened:

    • Grizzly Gulch, reminiscing an abandoned mining town set amidst mountains and woods. Opened 14 July 2012.

    In 2013, the seventh themed land opened:

    • Mystic Point, heart of a dense, uncharted rain forest where supernatural events take place. Opened 17 May 2013.

    Throughout the park are ‘Hidden Mickeys‘, or representations of Mickey Mouse heads inserted subtly into the design of attractions and environmental decor.

    An elevated berm supports a narrow gauge railroad that circumnavigates the park

MAIN STREET U.S.A

964705_4703775198555_45333983_o

DISNEYLAND CASTLE

IMG_1779

DISNEYLAND CITY HALL

IMG_1822

TO HK DISNEYLAND RAILROAD

IMG_1812

TRAIN IS HERE!!!

I did managed to ride in this train as there were only less people lined up. And since I came a bit late I wasted no time and started trying all the rides and attractions with less people. The place is huge so I suggest you get some map available from the main entrance. Most of the rides I tried are the PAMBATA ones but nevertheless it was fun.The feeling is like you are in magical world everyone is just happy and the smiles are never ending.

MYSTIC POINT

IMG_1875

ENTRANCE DOOR OF MYSTIC MANOR

IMG_1871

MYSTIC MANOR

From what I heard this attraction is just new here and when i get here there numerous people lined up but I decided to go as the line queue fast. Here you can see Board Lord Henry’s Mystic Magneto-Electric Carriage to view his amazing collection of art and antiquities from around the world.

GRIZZLY GULCH

946713_4703729837421_604356909_n

BIG GRIZZLY MOUNTAIN RUNAWAY MINE CARS

IMG_1397

IMG_1408

I still remember the feeling the time when I set foot in  Disneyland, it was SURREAL and something I cant explain but I was just happy to be here. It may sounds O.A but you really have to be there on that moment as it is not something that happens to you always.

ADVENTURELAND

965104_4703729517413_1283160736_o

ENTRANCE TO DISNEY ADVENTURELAND

I had the chance to watch the Festival of the Lion King it is a colorful pageant of music and dance inspired by the celebrating Disney’s animated classic  “The Lion King”

976601_4703740237681_1497471564_o

966023_4703741757719_133213455_o

966279_4703738237631_1444630791_o

Credit to my dear friend: Niel del Rosario for allowing me to borrow some of her photos from there Disneyland trip.

964683_4703734477537_427239928_o

TARZAN’S TREEHOUSE

To get the tree house you will need to cross the Rivers of Adventure, apart from that you can also go and experience the Jungle River Cruise which is just on the same area.

969400_4703731437461_136211073_n

JUNGLE RIVER CRUISE

TOMORROWLAND

IMG_1418

ONLY DECENT PIC LEFT

Before even coming to Disneyland I have decided not to buy anything and grab any meals so I can save some, and good thing I brought some biscuits and some bar of chocolate with me and also never forget big bottle of water although there are potable waters you can drink for free inside the park so you can refill your bottle.

FANTASYLAND

Here you can have your photo taken with some of the famous Disney characters like Mickey and Minnie and since I am soloist so I just took a photo of them for remembrance. The time I went to Disneyland they have this halloween event going on so from the normal hours of operation of 10AM-9PM they will be closing at 11PM which is favorable for me as it gives me more chances of exploring the park. If you plan to visit Disneyland you may check there website for hours of operation and events happening all throughout the year. And since it is halloween there are various options to scare yourself from the typical scare house up to the notorious rides.

967158_4703730717443_1259442891_oSO HAPPY TO SEE THEM IN PERSON

This ride is really for kids but I saw oldies lining up so nakigaya rin ako. The music playing all throughout is “It’s a small world” and it has been sung and translated into different languages across the globe. You will hear the different version of the songs as the ride progresses.

IMG_1785

IMG_1795

LAKAS LANG MAKABATA SA RIDES NA TO

IMG_1798

OF COURSE OUR VERY OWN FILIPINO VERSION

964721_4703791798970_771965226_o

TOY STORY LAND

I only made it to one ride here which is the Toy Solider Parachute Drop and even though I am god damn afraid of heights I survived and take note I have to fully convince myself that kids can do it so why can’t I? (talaga lang ahh). Too bad I am pressed with time so didn’t make it to  Slinky Dog  Spin ride which i find it interesting although it is really for kids.

IMG_1865

GIANT WOODY FROM TOY STORY WELCOMES ME

IMG_1366

THIS IS PART OF THE HALLOWEEN EVENT

IMG_1866

No Disney experience is complete without witnessing the amazing “Flights of Fantasy Parade” It is a parade led by Mickey’s airship followed by Disney Characters in the interactive sky-high celebration. During normal hours the parade starts at 3PM but since there is a Halloween event so the parade kicks in at 4PM. You have to manage your time with the rides for you to see the parade specially if it is weekends or holidays. I was lining up for Grave Academy  when I heard the announcement the parade is about to start and good thing the l was able to get in fast so the only hassle is finding your spot/place to stay to witness the parade as the side street has been occupied by early bird peeps.

FLIGHTS OF FANTASY PARADE

977505_4703754318033_569642390_o

SEE WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT

IMG_1831

PARADE HAS JUST STARTED

IMG_1848

IMG_1845IMG_1861

IMG_1844

IMG_1847

IMG_1855

It is indeed the “Happiest Place on Earth” and I seemed to forget all of my problems and stress back home. The parade is well choreographed and scored by a lively music which makes me wanna dance with the characters as they passed by the street. The theme park is nearing to the closing time and my feet is about to surrender  due to enormous walking, waiting and standing but I still have one last agenda to witness before leaving the place and that is the Fireworks Display. Because the theme park will close at 11pm so the fireworks is scheduled to happen at 9PM instead of the 8PM schedule during normal hours of operation. The fireworks is probably the most awaited show in Disneyland.

HK  DISNEYLAND FIREWORKS DISPLAY

964891_4667149442934_1404605094_o

964878_4667146042849_1266061933_o

920209_4667151442984_1284801075_o

964487_4667147602888_1831547083_o

PHOTO CREDIT: NIEL DEL ROSARIO

The night ended up with a BANG!!! , and even though I am so freakin tired  with all the activities happened the whole day I left the place with a smile hoping someday i can go back there. I left past 9PM as I still need to go to Mongkok street for the night market and also not to mixed up with the huge crowd when everyone else goes home and it will be hard to get in the train.

HOW TO GET HERE: 

*From Tung Chung or any MTR station down at Sunny Bay Station

*Change train, ride the Disneyland Train to Disneyland Resort

HOURS OF OPERATION: NORMAL HOURS OF OPERATION 10AM-9PM (check website for upcoming events)

ADMISSION PRICE: 450HKD( ADULT)  320HKD(CHILD)

ADDICT NOTES:

*Plan your trip wisely and if possible try not to put Disneyland into a weekend or during holidays

*You can bring bottle of water and some snacks (there are water refill station inside)

*Check HK DISNEYLAND Website http://park.hongkongdisneyland.com/hkdl/en_US/home/home?name=HomePage for special promotions, hours of operation and maintenance.

*You can buy your ticket at CTS Booth in HK Airport for 420HKD the update price it is 30HKD less than the normal ticket price over the counter.

*For help with anything about HK and Disneyland you may visit the HK PEX FORUM http://www.pinoyexchange.com/forums/showthread.php?t=607496

One thought on “Happiest Place on Earth in Hong Kong Disneyland

Leave a Reply

