Find your inner peace in NanLian Garden and Chi Lin Nunnery

IMG_1903

LOVELY, ISN’T IT?!

IMG_1884

MTR STATION

On my last day in HK, I started bit early as I was trying to maximize the remaining hours of my stay in HK. Supposively the plan is to be at NanLian Garden at 8AM but due to some unforeseen circumstances I reached destination past 10AM which is already late as per my itinerary as I still have the HK OCEAN PARK after this. It was a bit of a walk once you stepped out of the Diamond Hill MTR station, chances of getting lost in finding the place is impossible as there are signs/directions how to get there.

IMG_1894

GARDENERS INSIDE NANLIAN GARDEN

In an attempt to capture portraits of local worker/people, I took some photos of them. Some of the workers who maintains the area are mostly OLDIES although I feel for them as it this point of there life they should just stay at home and just finish up the crochet.

IMG_1924

The time I as midst of working on my itinerary I did saw a picture of this place from a travel blog and I was awed and since then I promise myself I have to see this. Well to some it maybe just another landscape garden in the middle of HK but good thing I made the right decision of going here. I kindly enjoy the place as the moment you stepped inside it is like you are in a different dimension. Makes me want to learn YOGA and just sat down and feel the fresh air.

IMG_1918

WATERMILL

IMG_1928

And since I am in a real hurry I ended up spending 2 hours inside so I kinda failed to enjoy the place as much as I would like to. Started walking around and non stop photo ops under a unbearable heat of the sun and God knows how I perspire.

IMG_1961

 MY FAVORITE PART OF THE GARDEN

IMG_1970

IMG_1972

PAGODA

The place is divided into 2 the NanLian Garden and Chi Lin Nunnery and so after too much photos around NanLian, I headed to Chi Lin Nunnery which is few steps uphill. And Chi Lin is more of a monastery or perhaps I would say temple. There are parts inside Chi Lin where photography is prohibited and mind you someone is watching your every move. I remember this PASAWAY tourist who discretely took a photo of the Buddha and he was caught so he was asked to delete the photo.

IMG_1936WAY UP TO CHI LIN NUNNERY

IMG_1946

SINCE NO PHOTOGRAPHY KAYA OUTSIDE SHOT NALANG

IMG_1956

IMG_1945

NOT SURE WHATCHAMACALLIT!

In my past travels I’ve seen enough temples and I swear there was a time I don’t want to look at a temple. Good thing it is my 1st time in a Chinese country so the Chinese temples are kinda new to me although I have seen some in Chinatown here in KL and SG.

POND WITHIN THE VICINITY OF CHI LIN NUNNERY

IMG_1942

IMG_1954

THIS WAY!!

IMG_1933

ALONG THE FACADE

IMG_1935

INTRICATE DESIGN ON THE DOOR

IMG_1978

Overall the place is worth to visit specially if you want to get away from the noise and large crowd of the city.

HOW TO GET HERE: via MTR and get off from DIAMOND HILL MTR Station. Just follow the signs and in about 5 minutes walk you will reach the entrance of the Nan Lian Garden.

ADMISSION: Free

HOURS OF OPERATION: Daily from 7AM in the morning to 9PM at night.

ADDICT NOTES:

*Be here as early as 7am or 8am while the sunrise still bearable.

*Bring umbrella and water as the weather can be very unpredictable.

*Allot atleast 2 hours to enjoy the place.

*Best time of the day to go here is morning

Leave a Reply

